Victoria Taiwo
2 min readJul 22, 2020
https://unsplash.com/@kellysikkema

MY DESIGN JOURNEY

My journey into design is one I never envisaged. As a child, I knew I wanted to do something tech-related, but I was terrible at Mathematics and I thought that was going to be the end of my aspirations of being a techie. I stumbled into design few months ago when I decided to learn a new skill as I was tired of staying at home and doing nothing, due to the Corona Virus pandemic. I’m glad I made that decision because it has been an exciting experience so far.

WHAT DESIGN MEANS TO ME
In my formative years, I was obsessed with understanding the design of everyday things and wondered how I could make them better. Design to me, is making creations not only aesthetically pleasing, but also meaningful, useful and pleasurable to the end user.

WHY I JOINED THE WEJAPA INTERNSHIP PROGRAM
As someone who intends to do a career switch in the near future , I am looking for a platform that would provide all the resources I need to make that transition possible in a smooth way. Having an experienced person to guide me will definitely help to accelerate my design career.

HOW I HOPE THIS PROCESS WILL IMPACT ME AND MY CAREER
I believe my internship program with Wejapa will help me develop and master new skills, connect with people who are passionate about design, like me. I’m interested in interacting with other interns who are at different skill levels - beginners, juniors and the experts; and to gain hands-on experience by collaborating with my peers.

WHAT I HOPE TO ACHIEVE AT THE END OF THE PROGRAM
At the end of this program, I hope to fully learn core design skills, understand the design principles, the different aspects of UX design, build my portfolio and get a strong foundation of the entire end-to-end of the UX process.

Victoria Taiwo

Law graduate || Tech enthusiast || Professional Volunteer || Christian